Tags

, , , , ,

On November 6th, at exactly 2 a.m., we entered “standard time.”  I’m told that we got an hour back, which I’m grateful for.  But whatever we want to tell ourselves about time, it is not really in our control.  Yet we persist in the illusion that it is.  We manage it, spend it and even waste it.  If you are an efficient person, then you know how to save it.

But whatever time it is when I get up in the morning, nothing changes the fact that the days are getting shorter and the nights are getting longer, and at least until solstice, darkness marches on.  No arbitrary time standard can change that basic fact.

And darkness is hard.  Only poets and the best musicians have the right language for it.  That’s because they live in the twilight–the magic hour that photographers crave–when a life can turn one way or the other.

With more darkness coming on, I thought I’d launch a musical thread on this theme.  I’ll start with three of my favorite “dark” songs.  Know some others?

“He not busy being born is busy dying.”  Bob’s epitaph?

“There’s a darkness on the eh-eh-eh-eh-edge of town!” This metaphor resonated with me when I was in college.  It makes even more sense now.
“Behind every beautiful thing there’s been suuummm kinda’ pain.”  I don’t think that’s true, but it is sometimes.

